Unsolicited advice

Photo by cottonbro studio on Pexels.com

Today I had my first MRI in 28 years of life. Like all firsts, this time too I was nervous. I trusted everything will go well, but I was still a bit nervous. 

I arrived at the clinic at 8 in the morning and after passing the formalities step, I went to change my clothes and went to the room with the MRI machine. I had to take a knee MRI because of some problems that got worse. 

The radiographer fixed my knee and asked if I wanted earplugs and I said yes. He have me orange ones and said he found the ones that were for girls. I am used with people attributing colors to people based on the sex, but I said that men wear those too. The radiographer said that he thought the yellow ones were for men. 

Personally I don’t like it when people suggest what colors others should wear or use based on their sex, but we all have our own set of perceptions and way of thinking. Until here, nothing seemed too out of the ordinary. What’s next is the “fun part” so stay with me.

After 25 minutes of staying in the machine and trying to remain calm so the noise and the vibrations wouldn’t make me move my muscles or the knee itself too much, the radiographer came into the room and he helped me unfix my knee from the equipment. He probably felt that he had to say the following:

“He: Dear child, you need to lose weight. (I wasn’t surprised because I know that I gained a lot of weight recently which affects my knee and my health in general, and I usually take these observations as well intended medical advice).

He: Are you married?

Me: No. 

He: Boys like magpies. (Meaning skinny girls)

Me: You really think I care about what boys like? 

He: Yes, you do.

Me: No, I really don’t.

He: Well, it’s important for the health.

Me: That’s something else.”

At this point I felt it was pointless to say more to a person who has this mentality, and I don’t like to explain myself. In the past, his comment would have hurt me. All my day would have been destroyed. But not now. 

What I disliked the most was not his comment that only shows his own perception on things, but the lack of professionalism and empathy that I expect from people in the medical field when I need their expertise. Medical services are very pricey already and there is also stress involved in some cases. I am sure no one goes to the hospital to be told what “boys” like in girls, though I am full grown woman and I make choices, not let myself chosen/selected.

I was reminded of a friend who got red spots on her body and she went to the doctor only to be told that she was transforming into a tiger. We go somewhere else for stand-up comedy, doctor. Same for dating advice in case you thought I needed some. 

Jokes about someone else’s body or health problems are unacceptable!

Did you have similar experiences? Feel free to share them in the comments.

Thank you for reading.



One response to “Unsolicited advice”

  1. Thanks a lot for sharing! I can only imagine how you felt and how this kind of approach is impacting the wellbeing of our society. We valued so much sharing this example that we also added a reference on our blog: https://firemagos.com/blog/diversity-equity-and-inclusion-dei

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started